New on IYOUWE! Norbert and Karen Stachel & LehCats Movement To Egalitaria Funky, Soulful Sounds Featuring More Than 30 Players!

New on IYOUWE!
Norbert and Karen Stachel
& LehCats
Movement To Egalitaria
Funky, Soulful Sounds
Featuring More Than 30 Players!
Movement to Egalitaria is a line in the sand. Any jazz fusion recordings that are released in the future will be compared to this album. Karen Stachel and Norbert Stachel have delivered an epic and energetic production for the ages. They have poured their hearts and souls into creating something that will stand the test of time – not just because of its brilliant virtuosity – but because this album has vision and integrity. It stands for something.”
Kabir Sehgal, New York Times bestselling author, Multi-Grammy Award Winner
Seven musicians who define the terms artistry, teamwork and chemistry starting with the chemistry of the married couple of Karen and Norbert Stachel, the leaders of LehCats.

Their versatility is evident, and their ability to deliver and uplift both the music and the listener is profound. Movement to Egalitaria was released June 12, 2018 (IYOUWE).

LehCats is Norbert and Karen Stachels’ last name spelled backwards.  They perform original artistic and tasteful compositions that combine elements of Modern Jazz, Funk, R&B, Middle Eastern, Afro/Latin, and Rock creating a musical potpourri of creative sound. LehCats is a seven piece group consisting of Norbert Stachel, tenor and soprano sax, bass clarinet, and flute, Karen Stachel, flute, alto flute, and piccolo, David Solomon, guitar, Gary Fisher, piano, John Benitez, bass, Renato Thoms, percussion, and Daniel Gonzalez on drums.

Norbert Stachel has toured, recorded, and performed with Tower Of Power, Flora Purim and Airto, Freddie Hubbard, Roy Hargrove, Prince, Boz Scaggs, Roger Waters, and countless others. Norbert co-leads the band with his wife Karen Stachel.

Karen Stachel has three released albums of as a solo artist. She works as a professional jazz and classical flutist in NYC, and prior to that, in the San Francisco Bay Area.  She can be heard on several movie soundtracks and commercials.  She is a member of the Wallace Roney Orchestra and a flutist/piccoloist with the New Amsterdam Symphony.

David Solomon has worked with Al Jarreau, Chubby Checker, Bobby Caldwell, Bette Middler, Neil Sedaka, Tito Puente Jr. and Broadway Shows: Grease, On Your Feet, In The Heights, Cats, Miss Saigon, and many more.

Gary Fisher performs extensively in the NYC area and can be heard on recordings with Ed Reed, Eddie Marshall, Carl Allen, Vincent Herring, and many others.

John Benitez
is a world renown bassist who has performed with Chick Corea, Wynton Marsalis, Tito Puente, Dave Valentin, Roy Hargrove, Danilo Perez and Giovanni Haldalgo.

Percussionist Renato Thoms abbreviated bio includes Rubén Blades, Eddie Palmieri, Danilo Pérez, Conrad Herwig, Brian Lynch, Ray Vega, Dee Dee Bridgewater, Jon Lucien, Sol y Canto, Paquito D’Rivera, Victor Mendoza, Antonio Hart and Hilton Ruiz.

Drummer Daniel Gonzalez has recorded and performed with Tom Harrell, Mark Murphy, Jesse Green, Urbie Green, to name a few.


Karen Stachel – flutes & vocal
Norbert Stachel – reeds & flutes
Nanny Assis – Brazilian percussion
Francis Benitez – drums
John Benitez – acoustic & electric bass
Will Bernard – guitar
Ivan Bodley – acoustic bass
Chris Biesterfeldt – guitar
Carlos Chong – guitar
Walfredo De Los Reyes Jr. – drums
Ricky Encarnacion – electric bass
Pete Escovedo – percussion
Gary Fisher – piano
Richie Flores – congas & percussion
Edsel Gomez – piano
Dan Gonzales – drums & percussion
Siavash Haghtalab – Iranian hand percussion
Bob Lanzetti – guitar
Axel Laugart – piano
Ray Obiedo – guitar
Mike O’Brien – acoustic bass
Lonnie Plaxico – acoustic & electric bass
Melissa Rodnon – pandeiro
Elizabeth Schwartz – vocal
Dave Solomon – guitar
Mike Stern – guitar
Yale Strom – violin
Yunior Terry – shekeres
Renato Thoms – urdu & percussion
Peter Washington – bass
Lenny White – drums
1. Soul Cha Cha
2. The National Anthem Of Egalitaria
3. Sunshine
4. Doppler Effect
5. Mandela
6. 9 Lives
7. Step On It
8. Celia’s Bomba
9. Goodbye Elgin Park
10. Meshugaza
11. Mopar’s Song
A forward-looking opus which will provoke and enchant you at the same time. Eleven tracks are composed, arranged, and performed with many tones and hues, ultimately rendering a beautiful landscape, a soundtrack of what the world could be.

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published. Required fields are marked *